h1

FO: Cabled Yoke Sweater

27/10/2008

I love that I am at the stage in my knitting where I can see a pattern and know I can knit it; it’s just a matter of if I want to. When I saw Baby Cables and Big Ones Too by Suvi S, {rav link here}I had to knit it. Right away. A yoked sweater, no seams, top-down, and cleverly-placed cables?? This was my knitters heaven (ok, that and a yarn warehouse with my name on it, but that’s an entirely separate blog entry).

I loved this sweater sooo much I knit it twice. But not on purpose, and not so I could gift one. I messed up the yoke on my first try because I did not trust my gauge. Ugh. I have been doing this a lot lately, thinking (well, fearing, really) that the FO is going to be much tighter than I want, so I knit the bigger size. This is so stupid because in the end, it causes me to have to reknit the thing which is what I am trying to avoid in the first place.

But it was soo worth it. I switched from US 7’s to US 6 and knit the same size (which I think was the smallest one), and I just made sure to keep trying on the sweater as I got close to finishing the garter stitch section of the yoke (I didn’t do this the first time, and there was a lot of fabric in the armpit area). I made sure to stop 1.5″ before my armpit–this was a perfect fit this time. I also didn’t knit the garter stitch sections in the arms. No other mods than that and voila!

Ok, so an office chair is not the best model, but it’s better than trying to take a picture of yourself while wearing it without a tripod.

Details:

Yarn: Wolle Roedel Siena in some obscure numbered colorway. I thought it was grey, but obviously it’s blue.

Needles: US 6, cable needle

Other Notions: I highly recommend a Kwacha-Kwacha for this, not only so you can annoy others in the room with your row clicking, but you will do a lot of row counting with this. Then do one better and buy yourself two–the arms involve two different row countings. Also, stitch markers, highlighter tape (from Knit Foundry), Chibi.

One comment

  1. You and I must have been twins in another life or something. I’m getting ready to knit this for the Sexy Knitters Club as soon as my yarn arrives!



Leave a Reply

