h1

Hooray for Crappy Weather!

12/02/2009

Front Window View of Mountain

While I love hot weather (I don’t really sweat), I’m also a sucker for crappy weather–the dark, windy, gloomy stuff. It’s perfect coffee and knitting weather and gives me a great excuse for putting off doing errands.

This is the view of the mountain (the Black Forest side) from my living room window. Normally the clouds and fog are rolling over them, but this morning there was snow, and more has been falling since.

I have been knitting a lot lately: everything from a snood for a greyhound [Rav link], a super-comfy Sherbrooke Cowl [Rav link], socks for hubbo [Rav link], to a shawl for a friend who has recently been diagnosed with breast cancer.  The shawl should be done soon (I’m knitting Ishbel by Ysolda).

Here’s the most recent lace piece I’ve finished: Cluaranach by Anne Hanson [Rav link]. I knit it with Crazy 4 Dyeing fingering weight 100% superwash merino in colorway Green Monster. The pattern was easy plane knitting. I even used a wicked long circular and the TSA didn’t take it away from me.

I’ve also been reading several books: The Fabric of the Cosmos: Space, Time and the Texture of Reality by physicist Brian Greene; Hot, Flat and Crowded by Thomas Friedman; and Arctic Lace by Donna Druchunas. I was a science major in college, and loved it when we got to study quantum mechanics. But since I was going more the environmental science route, I only got a taste–this book is great at explaining superstring theory in laymans terms and he uses analogies that are easier to understand. I swear it’s not boring!

Hot, Flat and Crowded is perfect reading for where we (the US) are in this moment of time. Overpopulation, no real energy policy, and the state of our economy (and how we can fix it) are the main themes in this book. Usually people with no natural science background who try to write about the environment irk the hell out of me (because I find they often are missing important parts of the picture that a solid scientific literacy would provide), but this time Friedman doesn’t. He melds the energy and security problems of the US with sound economic recommendations on how to protect both. Brilliant.

Arctic Lace is a knitting book–duh! Druchunas gives an excellent history of the knitting in this part of Alaska, and has great patterns at the end to boot. I’m currently knitting the North Star Scarf in Mistic Alpaca 2-ply Lace, and if I am lucky, I will finish it before I die. This stuff is thinner than floss, people.

Like the book hoarder I am, though, there are already two more books waiting to be read: Knitted Lace of Estonia by Nancy Bush and The Idea of Pakistan by Stephen Cohen. Squeeee!

Here’s wishing you wonderful crappy weather wherever you are (come on, you know you wanna stay in and do nothing).

5 comments

  1. Hello there! I thought I’d drop by and check your blog out. I happen to be logged on my blogsite and saw you were in for a visit. Just had to check you out.
    I love all your chosen FOs. I see you do a lot of lace projects. I do too. Do you read German? I ask, because am interested in doing European knit patterns but the only one I know from my neck of the woods is from Lithuania and am afraid to ask her. All I know is that she’s way super-experience knitter than I am; so that makes me intimidated.
    Anyway, I will definitely keep visiting your site. Please come by often and actually, why don’t you leave a comment on the post entry that I’m doing a giveaway on. It’s only one skein of yarn, but it’s alot ~ 500 yards.
    Take care. ~ Yarn Hungry Piggett


  2. You should start watching The Big Bang Theory on your iTunes! It’s about nerdy awkward science guys and one of them works with the string theory. Scott hates it, but I love it!


  3. Wow, was wondering where you’ve been! Your knitting just plain amazes me…beautiful!!!!
    The weather here for the past week in northern Calif. has been about as dreary, wet and snowy as you can imagine, with more to come for this week as well. Hopefully, that means some knitting time for me and soon…withdrawals are ugly! :=)


  4. You have been given a Kreativ Blogger award! Please visit my blog at this link for details and instructions to nominate others! You have a great blog!

    http://kkhymn.wordpress.com/2009/02/15/kreativ-blogger-awards/


  5. It’s been crappy here too and they say that March is the coldest month…YAY for me! I am making decent progress on my sweater and not starting much else because of school and all that fleece that I need to clean, otherwise, it’s same old, same old.



Leave a Reply

