h1

First Time with Handspun

25/02/2009

A lot of knitters are getting into spinning their own yarn, with some even starting from scratch (i.e. getting it right from the sheep and then washing, carding, etc.). I haven’t even touched a spindle (to be honest, I think I would also looove spinning, but let’s just stick to one addiction at a time for now), and just within the last few days I am finally knitting with some lovely handspun that I bought on Etsy from Cheryl at New Hue Handspuns.

Knitting with handspun for the first time after 20+ years of total knitting time puts me sooo behind the curve.

Bunny Patch by New Hue Handspuns

Bunny Patch by New Hue Handspuns

The yarn in question is Bunny Patch–a spun combination of 20% angora and 80% merino wool. The colorway is called “Dawn on the Mountain.” Good grief, if this is what dawn in the mountains looks like in Oregon, then I am so there. If Germany had a colorway in handspun it would be grey (at least on my mountain, heh heh).

I am knitting Anne Hanson’s new sock pattern with this loveliness. I have been eyeing Anne’s progress on this sock for a while and went ahead and got the same yarn that Anne was using to knit hers. With how slow the Army post is, I figured the yarn would be here by the time the pattern was posted. (And it was–on the same day–kismet!). While this yarn is technically a sportweight, the pattern calls for a st st swatch of 30 sts to four inches on US 1’s. I got this gauge on US 2’s, but had to go for knitting the medium size thanks to bunions and swelling from arthritis (yes, you can have both in your 30’s). For you non-knitters, think of knitting with US 1’s or 2’s as knitting with longer toothpicks. No, really–that’s how thin these needles are.

Tidelines in progress

Tidelines in progress

So I am knitting the medium on size 1’s–so far, so good. With yarn this soft frogging and reknitting wouldn’t be such a bad thing if I had to do it.

Let’s hope I can control my enjoyment of this handspun-stuff, because otherwise there will be a spindle in my future, with lessons on a wheel soon to follow. I hope I can hold myself back; I really don’t need another yarn-related obsession.

3 comments

  1. I’m so pleased to hear that you’ve given handspun a go and are enjoying it. Look forward to seeing the finished socks! Yes, it would become an obsession if you started to spin, and I’d encourage you to give it a go! Even if you don’t, please keep on buying the handspun and support handspinners rather than the big businesses. 🙂


  2. When I go home I will be renting a wheel or two or three to try them out.

    Hand spinning is so much fun and you know in the long run it’s cheaper to dye and spin your own than it is to buy it so a wheel is an investment not an expense! LOL.

    I’m going to give plying a try this weekend. I should be working on my first exam, but hey, procrastination gets yarn made!


  3. Very pretty yarn – I love the colors. I love knitting with handspun yarn – especially yarn I’ve spun myself. I see you ordered a spindle – good luck with it – can’t wait to see what you create!



Leave a Reply

