h1

History of Nudity in Germany

05/11/2009

Today there is a great article on FKK  (Freikoerperkultur), or as we prudish Americans say “public nudity”, in The Local, an online English-version newspaper for Germany.  As you may remember from a previous post, public nudity can take a little getting used to, but usually quite freeing once you get over the newness of it. I never thought I’d have the balls to go to a spa here and let it all hang out (you don’t get an option on this–nudity is the rule), but thanks to a friend I got over that weirdness and have been spa-hopping my heart out. I tell ya, there is nothing like four hours in a spa (for only 20 Euros!) when it is miserable outside.

What’s great about the article is that it talks about why FKK is/was so popular and why it came about. Plus it’s an interesting tidbit considering the anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall is on Monday.

But one thing the article misses is that West Germans (Wessies) are portrayed as being prudish and against FKK. Maybe this was so back then, but I can’t really agree with that now–nude seems to be the norm in the swimming/spa arena.

2 comments

  1. Hello!
    That’s interesting that West Germans have any image of being nude-phobic; I was an American kid growing up in WGermany and we saw skin all over the place: topless men and women on the ski slopes taking naps in the sun, co-ed changing at the schwimmbad, birthday suit sunbathing in public parks…


  2. Hi! I found your blog through Ravelry. Great link! My husband unknowingly swam to a nude beach at a lake in Munich a few years ago and felt very uncomfortable in his Speedos…

    I lived in Berlin for a while a few years back – I miss it so much!



Leave a Reply

