h1

Buttons and More

11/06/2010

We recently made a quick trip to the states to prepare for what is likely a move back to the US later this summer. But no trip to the US can be complete without some stash enhancing and more (my husband disputes this).

Tired of the buttons here in Heidelberg, I made sure to stop at JoAnn Fabrics to see what they had. It’s been a loooong time since I stopped in a JoAnns and I’m impressed at how much better it is now. The smiling cat buttons are my favorite!

I also stopped in at Webs in Northampton, Massachusetts. Otherwise known as my-husbands-nightmare. Aside from brown and teal skeins of Ultra Alpaca for Kate Gilbert’s Wintergreen Mittens, I also picked up three skeins of The Fibre Company Canopy worsted in the Black Walnut colorway. The plan is to use this to make Gretel by Ysolda. I’ve used this yarn before for a cowl, and it’s so soft and warm–perfect for a hat.

Also at Webs I got a skein of Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock in lightweight, colorway Muckity Muck. After finishing a secret pair of winter socks for a friend for xmas (yes, I am starting early this year), I cast on for So Square by Anne Hanson at knitspot. Anne’s patterns are so clear, so well-written, so fun. I already have one done and it fits like a glove. The second one will come soon but I have to finish a pair of short socks for my 4-year-old nephew, Mason.

We also went to Windsor Button in Boston. I managed to control myself somewhat and only bought one thing: a skein of Fibre Isle Pearl Bison. This stuff is so yummy soft that you just can’t believe they leave it on the counter like that.It’s made of bison, cashmere, seacell, and I forget what else. I have no idea what to make with this. I have 200 meters in a fingering weight. Maybe some lacy fingerless mitts? A cowl? Let me know if you have any ideas.

Finally, a picture from the Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Read= sunburn. I am still peeling.

Leave a Reply

